Chat and travel with fun!
Alex Lawrence
54 years old, Portland, United States

About me

I was raised in Southern California, in a town named La Crescenta which borders a region of wilderness where coyote roam. Occasionally they'd venture out into our street. Most summers of my early childhood I spent fly fishing and wandering around the lakes and farms near Twin Falls Idaho, where my grandparents lived. Later my parents turned me into a traveler, and I've kept this orientation ever since. Early highlights include a year in Tahiti, and a 40 foot trimaran sailboat that my father built with his own hands, then later sailed across the Pacific. More recent international trips include Thailand, Philippines, Hong Kong, Canada, England, France, Spain, Morocco and India. On two occasions I've trekked a thousand miles across the United States; from LA to Denver, and from Phoenix to Oklahoma City.

Now in 2019, I have crossed a great divide. I can live anywhere, and travel everywhere.

Over the next few years I plan to continue investing in blockchain companies, real estate, and various social transformation projects. The goal is to establish all of this within an enduring framework; an international nonprofit backed by a profitable investment firm.

On a day-by-day basis, I’m likely to be caught up in NBA basketball, scruffing around with my maine coon cat, enjoying an engaging conversion, and munching kale. My friends would say I'm very loyal---I've had the same close circle of friends for most of my life, and adore my family, who live in Cupertino and Los Angeles. I’ve also worked with a personal coach over the past 5 years, and he has too grown into a long term buddy.

If you’re into the enneagram, I’m a seven, which means I’m playful, extroverted, optimistic, versatile, and spontaneous. I love new and exciting experiences, and am pretty much up for trying anything. Jump out of an airplane? I’m game, as long as they don’t run out of parachutes. Fly to Arizona this weekend and trek the grand canyon? Let’s go! I’ll pick up the sunscreen and water bottles on the way home. In fact, let’s post a giant world map on the wall, drink a few beers, and pull out a dart. Smack! Wherever the dart lands we go there next. Avoid the pacific ocean if you can. On the other hand, searching for sunken treasure could be fun! Is it possible to rent a bathyscaphe?

Of course, there is also much to be said for brewing a pot of tea and camping out in bed past noon. Bathtubs too! Some entrepreneur should find a way to make lounging into a martial art. Surely, it would catch on.

About you:

You are spirited, funny, and inquisitive, with dreams in your mind and a brilliant imagination. You are someone with whom conversations spin into new conversations, an artist and idealist hiding out in plain clothes, working to make the world a better place in your own way. You’re willing to forgive my cat if he scratches you. And given your mischievous tendencies, maybe you deserved it!

Favorite quote:

"Only from the heart can you touch the sky." - Rumi

Question:

How much of your time do you be traveling over the next 2 years?

Just a few more things about me

  • Sexual orientation: Heterosexual
  • I speak: English
  • I'm looking for: Friends, Adventure, Soulmate
  • Smoker: No
  • Drinking habits: No
  • Education: Advanced degree
  • Income: High income
  • Height: 180 cm (5' 11") Weight: 75 kg (165 lb) Build: Athletic

Visited countries

United States
Show previous